Seattle Chamber Music Society’s Summer Music Festival underway

Featured image by Rebecca Jasso from Pixabay

The 2019 Summer Music Festival by the Seattle Chamber Music Society features well-known masterpieces and lesser-known gems spanning four centuries. The festival runs July 1-27, and concerts are on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 8 p.m. in the Nordstrom Recital Hall at Benroya Hall, 200 University Street in downtown Seattle,

The lineup for the 2019 Summer Musical Festival is:

  • Monday, July 8—U.S. premiere of Georges Enescu’s early Piano Trio in G Minor
  • Wednesday, July 10—Early English songs by Nicholas Phan
  • Friday, July 12—Concert Piece for Viola and Piano by Georges Enescu
  • Monday, July 15—String quartets by Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn
  • Wednesday, July 17—The world-premiere of Sebastian Currier’s Piano Quintet, commissioned by the Seattle Chamber Music Society’s Commissioning Club
  • Friday, July 19—String quartets by Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn
  • Monday, July 22—Piano Trio by Sergei Rachmaninov
  • Wednesday, July 24—Aubade for String Trio by Georges Enescu
  • Friday, July 26—Piano Quintet in F Minor by Johannes Brahms

A pre-concert recital begins at 7 p.m. at each performance.

Single tickets range from $20 to $60 and are still available for the July 22 and 24 concerts (buy tickets).

Benaroya Hall has underground parking (get directions and parking information). The Link light rail stops at the University Street Station, where you can take the elevator to the lobby. Several Metro buses stop at the hall or nearby. Plan your trip on The Link or on Metro.

If you can’t make it to Benaroya Hall, you can listen to live broadcasts of the concerts at Benaroya Hall from these parks in Seattle.

Student musicians perform live before the broadcasts and during intermission.

The season wraps up on Sunday, July 27, when the the Seattle Chamber Music Society performs a free concert at Volunteer Park. It starts at 6 p.m. with a Community Play-Along of Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op. 20 by Edward Elgar. Last year, 60 musicians participated in the Community Play-Along.

The concert begins at 7 p.m. and features these pieces:

  • Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7 by Zoltán Kodály
  • Trio for Violin, Viola, and Cello (Divertimento) in E-flat Major, K. 563 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

If you’re a musician and would like to participate in the Community Play-Along, register here. Amateur and professional musicians are welcome.

Visit for more information about the organization and its concerts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s