Civic Orchestra of Chicago celebrates its 100th anniversary with a free virtual concert tonight

Civic-Orchestra-of-Chicago-100th-Anniversary-Virtual-Concert

Editor’s note: If you missed the live concert on March 29, you can watch it here:
https://www.facebook.com/civicorchestra/videos/206235743993864/


Join the Civic Orchestra of Chicago tonight as it celebrates its 100th anniversary with a free virtual concert featuring an excerpt of the fourth movement of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony. Sixty musicians from the Civic Orchestra recorded their parts remotely this week, and these were compiled into a virtual symphony performance.

The concert also includes the world premieres of seven new pieces commissioned by the Civic Orchestra to celebrate its 100th anniversary. They’re created by composers by composers Josh Fink, Nathalie Joachim, Liza Sobel, Ted Moore, Peter S. Shin, Marta Tiesenga and L.J. White, and written in response to the challenges we face worldwide as we confront the COVID-19 pandemic. Musical inspiration for these new works come from the Civic Orchestra musicians’ individual recordings of Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony.

Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony was performed during the Civic Orchestra’s first concert in 1920.

The concert starts at 7 p.m. Central time, 8 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Mountain, and 5 p.m. Pacific. Watch on Facebook Live at facebook.com/civicorchestra or on the Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s YouTube channel at youtube.com/chicagosymphony.

Donations are greatly appreciated. Any amount helps!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s